jump to navigation

Battery Update November 24, 2013

Posted by steveandjudy in Code Blue 2013.
trackback
Batteries the bad caps

Batteries the bad caps

Code Blue Followers: 11-19-13

Well I think I figured out what the deal is with the batteries. A Mike of s/v Sunshine Lady came over to buy one of the batteries from my 4 that are good. Upon taking it out I noticed water in the bottom of the battery safety box. I thought maybe it was water spilled from filling the batteries. But when I took it over to the dry dirt to pour out about a cup of fluid, the dirty sizzled from the acid that was there. The batteries didn’t have a leak.

I have six green with yellow caps that I bought that were sold to me as Dyno’s version of Hydro Caps (to reduce evaporation and water usage) at their factory to reduce the amount of water evaporation from the cells. In fact after no difference of water loss from other cells with regular caps, I have come to the conclusion they are just fast fill caps that are easy to snap open and close. Anyway the openings are higher on the cells and when I use my 2 quart battery filler it stops at a higher level. When the battery charges more, the fluid expands and leaks out of the special caps I think. I think the batteries that don’t come up to spec on hydro are the ones that have been over filled once in a while. Like in the first box. I can see liquid in the other box at the bottom but there I’ve switched the special caps around a few times.

Anyone want to buy some special caps? Picture attached shows some of the green/yellow caps.

I think this is why my hydrometer readings are different for some of the batteries and cells, with acid flowing out the top due to the yellow/green caps and my over filling but not knowing it.

11-06-13 Did a hydrometer reading on all the bank batteries about noon. Float charging 13.3 Readings as below.

Forward first and starboard first for battery and 
cell layout.

Battery   Cell #1  Cell #2  Cell #3 
  1        1.300    1.300    1.300
  2        1.225    1.260    1.260
  3        1.300    1.300    1.275
  4        1.290    1.285    1.295
  5        1.225    1.292    1.292
  6        1.280    1.280    1.280

Batteries are 5 1/2 years old, so decided to replace them since we are headed to South Pacific March 2014, and would like to have a known battery situation.

Sprinkles on morning 11-22 and winds gusting to 20 kts. Saturday and Sunday are sunny. Cooler at night now we notice 64 F this morning 11-24.

Most of the bottom hull area is sanded now. Picture of me in a bunny suit getting the hull ready. Monday we take off for Tucson for batteries and some items we are having shipped to the battery place.

Steve

s/v Code Blue

Monster from the Lagoon working on the bottom paint

Monster from the Lagoon working on the bottom paint

Steve & Judy

Comments»

1. John Reed - November 24, 2013

Hi steve & Judy

A lead acid battery cell is fully charged with a specific gravity of 1.265 at 80° F. For temperature adjustments, get a specific gravity reading and adjust to temperature by adding .004 for every 10° F above 80° F and subtracting .004 for every 10° F below 80° F./battery-specific-gravity-test.html

less than average 1.210 recharge battery

difference of .3 between cells replace battery
From:
http://www.freeasestudyguides.com/battery-specific-gravity-test.html

have a happy turkey day 😉

John & Daleen
S/V Omega

2. Jerald King - November 29, 2013

Sorry to hear about your problems with the cheap battery caps which sound like they are the same I had been using on Mirador (Caliber 4072). The identical thing happened to Mirador’s batteries in 2009. I finally realized I was badly over filling the batteries. At that point the T-105s were over seven years old and I had been using the caps for three years.

I have gone back to old style caps on my T-105 batteries and they seem to be in good shape after 4 1/2 years. I make sure to check battery water level every 3-weeks.

I wish there was a better and more convenient place to locate six T-105 batteries than I use on the starboard side of the boat behind the waterlift muffler.


Leave a Reply

